RTI: Department of Science,Technology & Environment, Government of Tripura

Right to Information

The Right to Information Act (RTI) is an Act of the Parliament of India "to provide for setting out the practical regime of right to information for citizens" and replaces the erstwhile Freedom of Information Act, 2002. The Act applies to all States and Union Territories of India except the State of Jammu and Kashmir. Jammu and Kashmir has its own act called Jammu & Kashmir Right to Information Act, 2009. Under the provisions of the Act, any citizen may request information from a "public authority" (a body of Government or "instrumentality of State") which is required to reply expeditiously or within thirty days. The Act also requires every public authority to computerise their records for wide dissemination and to pro-actively publish certain categories of information so that the citizens need minimum recourse to request for information formally. This law was passed by Parliament on 15 June 2005 and came fully into force on 12 October 2005.[1] Information disclosure in India was restricted by the Official Secrets Act 1923 and various other special laws, which the new RTI Act relaxes.

For more details on the Act please click here


For notification please clich here here

Officers to Contact

Name of Public Authority

Department of Science,Technology & Environment, Government of Tripura, Gorkhabasti, Agartala.


First Appellate Authority

Shri Shivanand S. Talawar, IFS, Director, Contact Number : (0381)2307751


Name of S.P.I.O. : Shri Sajal Kr. Das, Scientific Officer (Head of Office & DDO) Contact Number : (0381) .2307751 / (0381)2325228.


Name of S.A.P.I.O. : Shri Bipul Mallik, Project Officer. Contact Number: (0381) 2307751 / (0381)2325228.

Last Updated on 12th January, 2016