The Department is housed in the Vigyan, Prajukti & Parivesh Bhavan, located at Pt. Nehru Complex at Gurkhavasti, Kunjavan, Agartala 799006. The Department executes & implements umpteen Programmes for promotion of Science & Technology, Renewable Energy, Science Communication, Societal Applications of Technologies, Remote Sensing & GIS, Ecology & Environment, Climate Change, Biotechnology through its administrative set up and the following organizations.

  • Directorate of Bio-Technology (DBT) established in 2002.
  • Tripura Renewable Energy Development Agency (TREDA) established in 1997.
  • Tripura State Pollution Control Board. (TSPCB) established in 1988.
  • Tripura State Council for Science & Technology (TSCST) established in 1984.
  • Tripura Bio-Technology Council (TBC) established in 2006.
  • Sukanta Academy for Science, Arts & Culture inaugurated in 1997.
  • Tripura Space Application Centre (TSAC) declared as State Nodal Agency in 2006 for application of GIS and Remote Sensing as decision support system of the Government

The Department has four district level offices in each of the 4 districts of Tripura headed by a Scientific Officer. These offices are the convergence points for the activities and execution of programmes of the Department and its constituent autonomous bodies.

Last Updated on 12th January, 2016